Minimum wages by state

Minimum Wage by State

Below you will find a list of minimum wages by state. 

Stay Informed! Get Notifications Delivered to Your Inbox. 

Twenty-four states, 48 cities and counties and Washington, DC will increase their hourly wages in 2020.

State Amounts Date Of Increase
Alaska $10.19 01/ 01/ 2020
Arizona $12 01/ 01/ 2020
Arkansas $10 01/ 01/ 2020
California $12 for small employers; $13 for large employers; reach $15 by 2022 01/ 01/ 2020
Colorado $12 01/ 01/ 2020
Connecticut $11; reach $15 by 2023 09/ 01/ 2020
District of Columbia $14, $15 07/ 01/ 2019
07/ 01/ 2020
Florida $8.56 01/ 01/ 2020
Illinois $9.25$10; reach $15 by 2025 01/ 01/ 2020
07/ 01/ 2020
Maine $12 01/ 01/ 2020
Maryland $11; reach $15 for large employers by 2025 and for small employers by2026 01/ 01/ 2020
Massachusetts $12.75; reach $15 by 2023 01/ 01/ 2020
Michigan $9.65 01/ 01/ 2020
Minnesota $8.15 for small employers; $10 for large employers 01/ 01/ 2020
Missouri $9.45; tipped employees $4.725 plus any other amount to bring total to$9.25 after trips; increase of 85 cents each year until $12 in 2023 01/ 01/ 2020
Montana $8.65 01/ 01/ 2020
New Jersey $11; reach $15 by 2024 01/ 01/ 2020
New Mexico $9 01/ 01/ 2020
New York $11.80 01/ 01/ 2020
Nevada $8 if the employer has health benefits; $9 if employer does not 07/ 01/ 2020
Ohio $7.25 for small employers; $8.70 for large employers 01/ 01/ 2020
Oregon $13.25 for Metro Portland area, $11.50 for nonurban counties; $12 forthe rest of the state 07/ 01/ 2020
South Dakota $9.30 01/ 01/ 2020
Vermont $10.96 01/ 01/ 2020
Washington $13.50 01/ 01/ 2020

Twenty-one states allow for anti-smoking or vaping policies and allow employers to include nicotine-free policy statements on employment application materials. In the states that allow for nicotine testing, applicants will be required to consent to submit to nicotine screening in the future. These states include: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia and Washington. Keep in mind that nicotine users are not a “protected class” under federal anti-discrimination laws.

Red Flag Laws – As of 1/28 there are 17 states and DC with these laws. (see California)

 

Right from Our Blog

Subscribe Today
1 min read

Maryland Sexual Harassment Reporting Requirements Take Effect Soon

Employers with at least 50 employees must complete a survey on or before July 1, 2020 identifying number of sexual...

1 min read

Craig Leen, Director of OFCCP, Encourages Contractors to Consider Functional Affirmative Action Programs

Leen encourages all contractors to consider FAAPs as a way of addressing systemic discrimination

OFCCP Director Craig...

1 min read

OFCCP Addresses Outreach at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Hispanic American Colleges and Universities, and Tribal Colleges and Universities

All federal contractors should be conducting outreach, job fairs and recruiting at these colleges

OFCCP Director Craig...

 

About OutSolve

We understand that dealing with HR compliance and regulations can be an overwhelming experience. At OutSolve, we’re here to make that experience positive and productive. With a commitment to customer services that is unrivaled, you can depend on us for affirmative action planning, OFCCP audit support, pay equity, EEO-1 & VETs, training, and more.  For over 20 years our experts have helped companies take care of their compliance needs. Contact us today to find out more. 

Contact Us Today